3.888.529 (2021)


Euro (EUR)

Capital city


Official language


Visas and Border Formalities

Citizens of the European Union do not need a visa or A residence permit to enter the Republic of Croatia. The same applies for a few other non-EU-member countries in the region, such as Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia or Montenegro. Entry is permitted on the basis of a valid identity card or a valid passport. Passengers from other countries must have a valid passport, and some might need a visa. A visa is an authorization for: transit through the territory of the Republic of Croatia or a stay in the territory of the Republic of Croatia for a maximum duration of up to 90 days in any period of 180 days, transit through the international transit area of the airport.

Types of visas are: air transit visa (visa A), short-term visa (visa C).  Visas are issued by diplomatic missions or consular offices of the Republic of Croatia abroad. They can also be issued by a diplomatic mission or a consular office of another country with which the Republic of Croatia has made an agreement on representation in issuing visas.

More information: Ministry of Foreign and European Affairs 

Useful information for foreigners entering Croatia.

Croatia is a member state of the European Union.


Euro is an official currency.

ATMs are literally everywhere and you shouldn`t have problems finding one.

Credit cards are widely accepted.

Emergency phone numbers

The common European emergency call number: +385 112

Police:  +385 192

Emergency medical assistance: +385 194 

Fire department: +385 193

Roadside assistance and towing: +385 1987

Tourist offices

Croatian National Tourist Board:

Osijek Baranja County Tourist Board:

Koprivnica Križevci County Tourist Board:

Međimurje County Tourist Board:

Varaždin County Tourist Board: