9.061.848 (2022)


Euro (EUR)

Capital city


Official language


Visas and Border Formalities

Citizens of EU member states, European Economic Area (EEA) and Switzerland do not need a visa for entering the Republic of Austria. Nationals of other countries might require a visa in order to enter the Schengen Area or the Austrian territory. Please check the information on whether you require a visa or not on the website of the Federal Ministry of the Interior.

Foreigners who are not nationals of an EEA state or Switzerland and who wish to pursue gainful employment or a short-term activity similar to gainful employment (e.g. internship) always require a visa (see also “Temporary work visa”).

Nationals of those states for which the visa requirement has been lifted by means of an EU regulation are entitled to visa-free entry to Austria for a maximum of 90 days per 180 days in case of no gainful employment.


The currency in Austria is the Euro and has been ever since January 1st, 2002.

Major credit cards are accepted almost everywhere, but please do check card charges from your bank in foreign countries before the trip. Most card machines will offer you to pay in Euros or in your card currency. We recommend choosing the Euro option since the card operator might have very unfavourable rates for your card. Usually, your bank will give you the best exchange rate with Euro.

Emergency phone numbers

Fire service: 122

Gas emergency: 128

Police: 133

The international calling code for Austria is +43.

Tourist offices

 Official Website for travelling to Austria: